Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


2010 Awards Ceremony

Principals and teachers from 314 schools attended the Washington, DC 2010 National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Awards Ceremony. Attendees had opportunities to learn through networking and through interactive sessions that addressed leadership and building capacity in teachers and students; family engagement for student success; and strategies to elevate the teaching profession. A gala reception was sponsored by The History Channel, SMART Technologies and GlaxoSmithKline. Principals from 10 schools were honored with Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Featured presenters included Sara Brown Wessling, 2010 National Teacher of the Year, Dr. Thelma Melendez de Santa Anna, Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education and Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education. At the Ceremony’s close, Aba Kumi, National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Director, presented engraved plaques to representatives from each school to commemorate their success.


Principals’ Voices


Session Summaries


Terrel H. Bell Award Pictures

Blue Ribbon School Awards

Blue Ribbon Awards Pictures