Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Welcome, #nbrs2014!

Blue Ribbon KidsSecretary of Education Arne Duncan has named 337 schools as the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools. Read the Department’s press release. Use the 2014 National Blue Ribbon School map to learn more about each of the 337 National Blue Ribbon Schools of 2014.

The 2014 schools represent 47 states, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and DoDEA schools in Germany and Japan. They comprise 257 elementary schools, 26 middle schools, 48 high schools, and 6 K-12 schools. Of the 337 schools, 290are recognized as Exemplary High Performing schools and 47 are recognized as Exemplary Gap Closing Schools. Review lists of schools by these categories.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program is an important part of the Department’s efforts to seek, identify, replicate, and scale up education practices that work. Secretary Duncan praised the National Blue Ribbon Schools as “a national treasure,” and challenged them to share their knowledge with peers in other schools and districts, “to become engines of educational innovation, galvanizing others to transform their schools as well.”

2014 Ceremony Agenda At a Glance

NBRS Ceremony Agenda over view 2014