Skip to main content
U.S. flag showing an official website of the United States government.

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Https icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Bell Award Recipients 2010

Terrel H. Bell Award

The Terrel H. Bell Award, named for the former U.S. Secretary of Education, recognizes outstanding school leaders and the vital role they play in overcoming challenging circumstances. Principals nominated for this award are school leaders committed to fostering successful teaching and learning at their schools. They are principals who do whatever it takes to help their students meet high standards and are committed to the notion that in educating America’s children, failure is no option.


2010 Recipients:

  • Lisa Williams, Principal, Anna F. Booth Elementary School, Irvington, Alabama
  • Cole Young, Principal, Humboldt Elementary School, Dewey-Humboldt, Arizona
  • Darlene Brister, Principal, Ryan Elementary School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Thomas Evans, Principal, Eastern Technical High School, Baltimore, Maryland
  • James Verrilli, Principal, North Start Academy Charter School of Newark, Newark, New Jersey
  • Laverne Nimmons, Principal, Granville T. Woods Public School 335, Brooklyn, New York
  • Naomi Drouillard, Principal, The Rosa Parks School – P.S. 254 Queens, Richmond Hill, New York
  • Sammy Jackson, Principal, Elgin Middle School, Elgin, Oklahoma
  • Michael Lucas, Principal, Cornell Elementary School, Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
  • Sandi Jones, Principal, West Side Elementary School. Jacksonville, Texas
Font Resize