ED.gov logo
NBRS Award Winners

Find this year's schools on our National Blue Ribbon Schools award winners list

Recent Tweets
Tuesday May 22 - 2:12pm Struggling to Excellent: The story of rapid school #turnaround at White Street Elementary School of #SPSMass, a 201… https://t.co/JDksy8RC5c
Tuesday Apr 3 - 3:41pm NBRS Liaison Newsletter April 2018 - https://t.co/lB1qmqjTID
Thursday Mar 29 - 1:59pm Learn about the #ProfessionalDevelopment practices of four schools from #nbrs2017, including the use of peer classr… https://t.co/MklZCOL6Bh

2013 Awards Ceremony Recharges Educators

Nearly 800 principals, teachers, superintendents, and other school supporters gathered in Washington, DC November 18 and 19 for the 31st annual U.S. Department of Education recognition ceremony for National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Representing 286 exemplary public and private schools across the country, participants shared best practices, conferred with U.S. Department of Education representatives in four concurrent roundtable discussions, enjoyed a sponsored networking reception, celebrated the 2013 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding Leadership and drew inspiration from a roster of extraordinary speakers before receiving their awards with their peers.

Featured speakers, in order of appearance:

Deborah S. Delisle, Assistant Secretary, Elementary and Second Education, spoke on “National Blue Ribbon Schools: Messengers of Excellence, Equity and Empowerment” Link to Deborah Delisle video [22:46].

Marcus P. Johnson, 2011 National Superintendent of the Year and currently Co-director, Central Valley Educational Leadership Institute, Fresno State University, delivered “Be the Light.”

Sheila Harrity, National High School Principal of the Year, described “Preparing Today’s Students for Tomorrow’s Jobs” in the context of her school, Worcester Technical High School (MA).

Jeffrey Charbonneau, National Teacher of the Year and Chemistry, Physics, and Engineering Teacher at Zillah High School, Zillah, WA, recounted his experiences in “Welcome to Another Day in Paradise.”

2011 NBRS Principal Sean Bevan @seanbevan (Westwood HS, Westwood, MA) and 2013 NBRS Principal Jennifer Nauman @PrincipalNauman (Richard Shields ES, Lewes, DE) shared a range of school uses of Twitter in a #nbrs2013 technology session introduced by Cameron Brenchley @chbrenchley, U.S.D.E. Director of Digital Strategy.

U. S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan offered congratulatory remarks and took part in an “Ask Arne” session where he addressed questions from 2013 NBRS ceremony participants. Link to Secretary Duncan video [43:32].