Social Connections

Subscribe twitter icon Subscribe Subscribe Subscribe

NBRS Award Winners

Find this year's schools on our National Blue Ribbon Schools award winners list

Recent Tweets
Introducing @NatlBlueRibbon school practices: Learn about preK, college/career, whole child ed, and more: https://t.co/oQhLxZFbdJ

Bell Award Recipients

Terrel H. Bell Award

The Terrel H. Bell Award, named for the former U.S. Secretary of Education, recognizes outstanding school leaders and the vital role they play in overcoming challenging circumstances. Principals nominated for this award are school leaders committed to fostering successful teaching and learning at their schools. They are principals who do whatever it takes to help their students meet high standards and are committed to the notion that in educating America’s children, failure is no option.

2011 Recipients:
  • Lauren Kinney, Principal, Sundance Elementary School, Beaumont, California
  • Traci Jackson, Principal, Shirley Hills Elementary School, Warner Robins, Georgia
  • Nichole Heyen, Principal, Lincoln Magnet School, Springfield, Illinois
  • Jack Spatola, Principal, Beacon School of Excellence, PS 172, Brooklyn, New York
  • Deirdra Gardner, Principal, Piedmont Open Middle School, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Karen Daugherty, Principal, Rose Tree Elementary School, Media, Pennsylvania
  • Karen Noble, Principal, Hillcrest Elementary School, Nederland, Texas