ED.gov logo
NBRS Award Winners

Find this year's schools on our National Blue Ribbon Schools award winners list

Recent Tweets
Wednesday Jun 20 - 2:55pm "True learning requires engagement." Learn how @skylandelem, a #nbrs2017 school in rural South Carolina, uses an a… https://t.co/3BZJhkVLGY
Thursday May 31 - 12:36pm RT @usedgov: What is a @NatlBlueRibbon School? These schools are producing outstanding results for all of their students. They’re also clos…
Tuesday May 29 - 1:07pm Learn what happens when a G&T school becomes a zoned, neighborhood school; the story of the Brooklyn (NY) School fo… https://t.co/HMyUmHTj1E

Betsy DeVos Congratulations Speech

Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos Recognizes 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools

During the 2017 recognition ceremony, U.S. Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos, congratulated the 342 NBRS award winners. The winners represented schools from 44 states, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Schools in New York, Germany, and Japan. Secretary DeVos praised the schools for putting students at the center of everything, working hard, and having a deep and positive impact on students. She talked about the diversity of students in our county and that the unique needs of each student are not met by a one-size fits all approach to education. She thanked the schools for their extraordinary commitment to meeting the unique needs of students every day.

In addition, Secretary DeVos recognized Joe and Trish McTighe who will be retiring from the Council for American Private Education after 21 years. She thanked them for their dedication and commitment to nominating non-public schools for NBRS awards.

Betsy Devos’ Congratulations Speech transcript here.