Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



2021 Terrel H. Bell Awardees Honored for Outstanding School Leadership

This page was last published on: 11/5/2021

2021 Terrel H. Bell Award Winners - National Blue Ribbon Schools 2021

The 2021 Terrel H. Bell awardees for outstanding leadership have been awarded. The eight National Blue Ribbon School principals were recognized on November 4th during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in National Harbor, MD. Read about each awardee below:

U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona announced the 2021 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership.

Eight principals from the 2021 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Thursday, November 4, 2021. Read about each awardee below.

2021 Terrel H. Bell Awardees

Angela Silvaggio Mesquite Elementary School

Angela Marie

Mesquite Elementary School
Mesquite, NM

Christy Flores Maude Davis

Christy Flores
Maude B. Davis Elementary School
Costa Mesa, CA

Elisa Brown PS 249 Caton

Elisa Brown
PS 249 –
The Caton School
Brooklyn, NY

John Gibbons Weston

John Robert Gibbons
Weston Middle School
Weston, MA

Mardele Early Lake Forest

Simmons Early

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
New Orleans, LA

Mary Anderson Fruchthendler

Mary J. Anderson
Jacob C. Fruchthendler Elementary School
Tucson, AZ

Sonia Flores TJ Owens

Sonia Anna Flores
Dr. TJ Owens Gilroy Early College Academy
Gilroy, CA

Acevedo Calder Road Elementary School

Sophia Acevedo
Calder Road Elementary School
Dickinson, TX