Skip to main content
U.S. flag showing an official website of the United States government.

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Https icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

2020 Terrel H. Bell Awardees Honored for Outstanding School Leadership

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced the 2020 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Nine principals from the 2020 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools are joined this year by a special Lifetime Leadership awardee. They will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools virtual awards ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020. Read about each awardee below.

2020 Terrel H. Bell Awardees


Shavon Jackson AR Bell

Shavon Jackson Crawford Elementary School Russellville, AR


(CT) Carmen Vargas-Guevara

Carmen Vargas-Guevara
South Street School
Danbury, CT


Carol Leveillee DE Bell

Carol Leveillee Frederick Douglass Elementary School Seaford, DE


Mayra Cruz Oyster Adams DC Bell

Mayra A. Cruz
Oyster-Adams Bilingual School Washington, DC


Michael Robinson GA Bell

Michael H.

Martha Ellen Stilwell School of the Arts
Jonesboro, GA

Maryann Hayslip KY Bell

Maryann Hayslip
Saint Aloysius School
Pewee Valley, KY

John's Wright TN Bell

John Ross
Wright, Jr.

West Side Elementary School Elizabethton, TN

Corrine Morris Saenz TX BEll

Corrine Morris Saenz
Reilly Elementary School
Austin, TX


Michelle Fox WA Bell

Michelle M. Fox
Ridgecrest Elementary School East Puyallup, WA

Christina Small HI Bell

Special Lifetime
Leadership Awardee
Christina Small
King Liholiho Elementary School
Honolulu, HI