Skip to main content
U.S. flag showing an official website of the United States government.

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Https icon showing an official website of the United States government.

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

2019 Terrel H. Bell Awardees Honored for Outstanding School Leadership


11142019 National Blue Ribbon Schools 2019 - Terrel Bell Award Winners

The 2019 Terrel H. Bell awardees for outstanding leadership have been named. The ten National Blue Ribbon School principals were recognized on November 14th during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in National Harbor, MD. Read about each awardee below:


2019 Terrel H. Bell Awardees


Michelle DuBose Adams

Michelle DuBose Adams
Eichold-Mertz Magnet School of Math, Science & Technology Mobile, AL


George Petersen

George Petersen Liberty Elementary School
Fresno, CA


Daniel Crispino

Daniel Crispino John Barry Elementary School Meriden, CT


Alisa Bender

Alisa Bender
Lt Col Horrace Meek Hickam Elementary School Honolulu, HI


Shane Staszcuk

Shane Staszcuk Our Lady of Mount Carmel Academy Chicago, IL

Ray Helmuth

Ray Helmuth
Van Buren Elementary School Plainfield, IN

Lily Albright

Lily Albright Unionville Elementary School Unionville, IN

Lisa Ditillo Speroni

Lisa Ditillo Speroni
PS 253, The Magnet School of Multicultural Humanities Brooklyn, NY


Rachel Ayala

Rachel Ayala Hubert R. Hudson Elementary School Brownsville, TX

Sandra Barrios

Sandra Barrios Jack Lowe Sr. Elementary School
Dallas, TX


The video coverage of Secretary DeVos and Erin Roche’s congratulatory remarks and award presentation is posted below.

Transcript available here.