Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


2018 Terrel H. Bell Awardees Honored for Outstanding School Leadership

The 2018 Terrel H. Bell awardees for outstanding leadership have been named. They are joined this year by a special Lifetime Leadership awardee. The eleven National Blue Ribbon School principals will be recognized on November 7th during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, DC. Read about each awardee below:

Demetrios Demopoulos

Demetrios Demopoulos, Principal, Archimedean Upper Conservatory, Miami, FL

Margaret Egan

Margaret Egan, Principal, Saints Peter and Paul School, West Chester, PA

Deana Gonzalez

Deana Gonzalez, Principal, Jackson Elementary School, Rosenberg, TX

Diane Jackson

Diane Jackson, Principal, Tigerville Elementary School, Taylors, SC

Reginald Landeau

Dr. Reginald Landeau, Jr., Principal, MS 216 George J. Ryan School, Fresh Meadows, NY

Jason Lawson

Jason Lawson, Principal, Lake Hills Elementary School, Spring Lake, MI

Nongongoma Majova-Seane

Nongongoma Majova-Seane, Principal, Stanton College Preparatory School, Jacksonville, FL

Elizabeth Riesenberger

Elizabeth Riesenberger, Principal, John Foster Dulles Elementary School, Cincinnati, OH

Tracy Speaker-Gerstheimer

Tracy Speaker-Gerstheimer, Principal, Northwest Early College High School,
El Paso, TX

Aisha Thomas

Aisha Thomas, Principal, Zach Elementary School, Fort Collins, CO

Kathleen Hurstell Riedlinger

Special Lifetime Leadership Awardee
Kathleen Hurstell Riedlinger, CEO, Lusher Charter School,
New Orleans, LA