2016 Ceremony Featured Speakers

Speakers for the 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools ceremony have been named. In addition to remarks from U.S. Secretary of Education John B. King, Jr., attendees will hear from five other outstanding speakers: Principal Dr. Sheila Harrity, diversity expert Eileen Kugler, National Teacher of the Year Sean McComb, author Ellen Oh, and researcher Dr. Russell J. Quaglia. Specific times for each speaker remain to be determined. You may download the 2016 NBRS Ceremony Overview to get an overall sense of the two-day event and check out the updated Frequently Asked Questions, which includes clarification about the two Marriott hotels.
john b king, sec of ed

John B. King, Jr., U.S. Secretary of Education: Congratulatory Remarks and a Q&A session.

Dr. Sheila Harrity, Supt. of Montachusett Regional Voc-Tech HS, 2013 Bell awardee: Congratulations…What’s Next?

kugler on diversity

Eileen Kugler, author, editor, consultant: Understanding Our Diverse Students by Understanding Ourselves First

sean mccomb

Sean McComb, 2014 Teacher of the Year, USDE Teaching Fellow: Creating Conditions for Teachers to Thrive and Students to Flourish.

ellen oh

Ellen Oh, author, founder of We Need Diverse Books: Diversity in Literature.

russell quaglia

Dr. Russell J. Quaglia, education researcher: Student Voice: They Have Something to Teach US!