Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


2016 Bell Awardees and Lifetime Leadership Awardee Named

Each of the seven 2016 Bell awardees and the 2016 Lifetime Leadership awardee pictured above is flanked on the left by Thomas Dodd, 2017 National Principal of the Year and Steven Geis, President of the National Association of Elementary School Principals, and on the right by U.S. Secretary of Education John B. King, Jr., and Will Waidelich, Executive Director of the Association for Middle Level Education.

The 2016 Terrel H. Bell awardees for outstanding leadership have been named. They are joined this year by a special Lifetime Leadership awardee. You may also download a pdf of all 2016 Leadership Awardees. Read about each awardee below:

2016 Terrel H. Bell Awardees