#nbrs2014–One for the Records!

Like all National Blue Ribbon Schools cohorts, the 2014 cohort represents outstanding schools. This cohort, however, also boasts three “one-of-a-kind” achievements.

gretchen whitney

Celebrating Gretchen Whitney High School’s 3-time award at the Annual Recognition Ceremony are, left to right, Art Department Chairperson Jodi Improta, NBRS Program Director Aba Kumi, Principal Rhonda Buss, and Superintendent Dr. Mary Sieu.

Gretchen Whitney High School, Cerritos, CA is a 5-time winner of the National Blue Ribbon Schools award. Gretchen Whitney was previously named a National Blue Ribbon School in 1986, 1990, 1997, and 2008.

The Brainerd (MN) School district, ISD 181, counts all six of its elementary schools as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools:

Baxter Elementary School
Garfield Elementary School
Harrison Elementary School
Lowell Elementary School
Nisswa Elementary School
Riverside Elementary School

Finally, a brother and sister are both principals of 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools:

Kim Cuthriell is principal of Frank Sparkes Elementary School, Winton, CA. Her brother Doug Johnson is principal of Del Sur Elementary School, San Diego, CA.