Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


2014 Awards Ceremony

2014 Recognition Ceremony Draws Attendees from Across the U.S., Germany, and Japan

More than 900 participants, representing 340 schools from Alabama to Wyoming, Germany, and Japan, gathered November 10 and 11, 2014 for the National Blue Ribbon Schools Annual Recognition Ceremony in Washington, D.C.

An array of distinguished speakers, including Libby Doggett, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and Early Learning, U.S. Department of Education; Marcus P. Johnson, 2011 National Superintendent of the Year; Diane Campbell Hathaway, former Principal Hill-Freedman Middle School (Philadelphia, PA), NBRS in 2006 and 2014; and U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan urged the 2014 schools to accept their status as models of great schools and to share their wisdom with schools still on the path to greatness.

In discussion sessions that tapped participants’ expertise to guide struggling schools and engaged participants in grappling with key educational issues, the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools cohort was thoughtful, highly involved, and passionate about education and students’ well-being.

Highlights of the ceremony were the presentation of the Terrel H. Bell award for outstanding leadership to eight highly effective principals—and the ceremonial, not to say festive, awarding of the National Blue Ribbon School plaques and flags.