Social Connections

Subscribe twitter icon Subscribe Subscribe Subscribe

NBRS Award Winners

Find this year's schools on our National Blue Ribbon Schools award winners list

Recent Tweets
Thursday Sep 21 - 3:33pm .@BetsyDeVosED will announce the #nbrs2017 cohort on Sept 28 at 1:00 pm EST. Stay turned for information about our live-stream!
Monday Sep 18 - 1:54pm Examples of how National Blue Ribbon Schools promote college and career readiness https://t.co/BZ2ihqZKPM https://t.co/oGOBWGZhVs
Thursday Sep 14 - 4:10pm Interested in promoting parent and family engagement? Take a look at what select Blue Ribbon schools have done:… https://t.co/a6CEbdi6cD

2010 Awards Ceremony

Principals and teachers from 314 schools attended the Washington, DC 2010 National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Awards Ceremony. Attendees had opportunities to learn through networking and through interactive sessions that addressed leadership and building capacity in teachers and students; family engagement for student success; and strategies to elevate the teaching profession. A gala reception was sponsored by The History Channel, SMART Technologies and GlaxoSmithKline. Principals from 10 schools were honored with Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Featured presenters included Sara Brown Wessling, 2010 National Teacher of the Year, Dr. Thelma Melendez de Santa Anna, Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education and Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education. At the Ceremony’s close, Aba Kumi, National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Director, presented engraved plaques to representatives from each school to commemorate their success.



Principals’ Voices


Session Summaries




Terrel H. Bell Award Pictures

Blue Ribbon School Awards

Blue Ribbon Awards Pictures